Mohamed Salah leads the golden boot race but it was the Man Utd attacker who made a big move in the standings this week. Ronaldo had a day to remember against Norwich Ronaldo had a day to remember against Norwich. Mohamed Salah is in pole position to win the Premier League Golden Boot this season, having scored 20 goals so far in 2021/22.

Harry Kane is the defending champion after he held off a long challenge from Salah to narrowly finish first in the top-flight scoring charts with 23 last season. That was the third success for Kane, matching the total of Golden Boot triumphs held by the all-time EPL record goalscorer Alan Shearer.

This year Kane will be seeking what would be a record-equalling fourth crown. Salah and Bruno Fernandes, who each made the podium last season, entered the campaign hoping to challenge again, while a proven Premier League scorer, Romelu Lukaku, returned to Chelsea after a prolific spell in Serie A with Inter. Man Utd then brought Cristiano Ronaldo back to Old Trafford in a sensational return, making 2021/22 look like the most competitive Golden Boot race in years.

Former winner Jamie Vardy, Leeds striker Patrick Bamford, Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin, West Ham star Michail Antonio and Aston Villa duo Ollie Watkins and Danny Ings are part of a strong contingent from outside England’s ‘big six’ teams who were rated as contenders when the season began.



POSITION              PLAYER   TEAM      GOALS

1              Mohamed Salah  Liverpool               20

2              Son Heung-min     Tottenham             17

3              Cristiano Ronaldo               Man Utd                15

3              Diogo Jota             Liverpool               15

5              Sadio Mane          Liverpool               13

6              Harry Kane            Tottenham             12

6              Ivan Toney            Brentford               12

8              Kevin De Bruyne   Man City                11

8              Wilfried Zaha       Crystal Palace      11

10           Riyad Mahrez       Man City                10

10           Raheem Sterling   Man City                10

10           Raphinha              Leeds      10

10           Mason Mount      Chelsea  10

10           Jamie Vardy          Leicester City        10

10           Emmanuel Dennis               Watford 10

10           Teemu Pukki         Norwich 10

17           Bruno Fernandes Man Utd                9

17           Bukayo Saka         Arsenal  9

17           Jarrod Bowen       West Ham             9



Leave a Reply